Skip to content

Love and paint

February 15, 2012

The first thing I did this morning was come downstairs and hang 4 love spoons on our freshly painted dining room wall!  Home making is in my blood but it has/is taking me time to grow into it. My Mum would be hanging hearts and pictures on the walls of a new house as the removal men (my Dad!) were still carrying wardrobes up the stairs; my sister is a beautifully gifted artist which comes out of who she is and what she puts her hand to – I love to learn from my Mum and my sister but realise God is establishing me, and it’s through His wisdom in me that will build this home.  My love for my home, my husband and my children will build this home.

I’ve heard people say that love grows, it matures like a fine wine.  As a young wife I thought I knew everything about love, I thought I’d felt it, lived it and could tell our true love story but true love stands the test of time, true love finds a rhythm, true love learns to move in harmony like a perfect dance piece being perfected; with bumps, falls and bruises along the way.

Yesterday Dave and I continued our redecorating and painting project in the main living/dining area of our house; after the valentines brunch and giving of flowers, cards and beautiful words and before the evening movie, glass of wine and the compulsory eating of our (his) favourite Ben & Jerry’s ice-cream, we perfected our team work.  He does the main painting, I cut in and do the finer more delicate areas.  We laughed at our past, younger efforts of decorating our love nests; our leaky flat in Cardiff, our little terrace in Loughborough; the lack of preparation, the choosing of cheap paint, the impatient slapping on of paint and turning a blind eye to half-finished jobs!

The painting is done for now, I’ll touch-up the bits the light has revealed when the babies are sleeping and the dishes are done.

We’re pleased with our progress but can still see the imperfections

Today I’m hanging pictures and treasures on our walls

We’re learning to enjoy the fruit of our labour and not wait till it’s ‘perfect’ – we’re still working on that!

It takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

1 Cor 13 (The Message)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 2:37 pm

    ‘… true love stands the test of time, true love finds a rhythm, true love learns to move in harmony like a perfect dance piece being perfected; with bumps, falls and bruises along the way.’

    Love this bit Leah, so true! Thanks for your insights today x

  2. leahboden permalink*
    February 18, 2012 3:46 pm

    Thanks Kathi – it’s so true, but we get back up, look our dance partner in the eye and start again! Blessings, Leah x

Leave a Reply

