Skip to content

Some days can be a ‘bit’ like this

February 23, 2012

I’d like to have order in every room

Yet some corners of my house have barely seen a broom

I’d like the house to look perfect as he walks in the door

but usually I’m rushing and still picking Lego off the floor

I’d like laundry to be washed, folded and hidden

but the mountain’s so high it ought to be forbidden

I’d like to look glamorous, glowing and slick

I merely manage a sweep of mascara whilst cleaning off sick

I’d like to serve up fresh bread and a well-balanced meal

I’d like freshly grown veggies and herbs that heal

but I’ve run out of flour and the milk smells funny

I’d nip to the shop but I’ve run out of money

and I’ve got 4 children to get out of the door

and they’re wearing odd socks and fighting on the floor

but then I remember that good day I had

when I froze 7 made meals (it was a bit of a fad)

So I victoriously present a fabulous dinner

with time to apply lipstick and make myself look (slightly) thinner

I put the baby to bed and (we) fall asleep mid-feed

I wake with a shock and run downstairs with great speed

To find he’s been waiting and it’s now 10.30

He’s forgiving and snuggles me and I act a bit flirty

There’s still work to be done but we forget and kiss

Not all, but some days can be a bit like this!

By Leah Boden

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 11:26 am

    Love it Leah! I think all mum’s will be able to relate to this! Have a blessed day x

  2. February 23, 2012 11:46 am

    I love this, Leah! šŸ™‚
    Many blessings!

  3. leahboden permalink*
    February 23, 2012 12:20 pm

    Thanks ladies – read it to Dave this morning to which he replied ‘that’s far to real’ ha ha!! We have to laugh at our imperfections hey?! Leah x

Leave a Reply

