Skip to content

Peace not Perfection – part 2

February 28, 2012

What are your peace pressure points?

I used to think peace had something to do with being quiet, ha ha – until I became a mother. Admittedly peace and quiet do go nicely together but quiet is not essential to the existence of peace.  I can sit around my noisy, bustling dinner table with 6 conversations going on at once, all of us vying for Dave’s attention (he’s a popular guy!!) and I smile.  I feel His smile on my family and there lies His peace.

Peace settles deep in the foundations of our soul, peace can be reached in the midst of turmoil, peace can be stirred up when you’re loosing your head, peace can be imparted, shared and brought into a home or situation.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27

I love the image of the little bird hidden in the crevice of the rock whilst the waves and breakers storm around him, he is at peace.

I love the story of Jesus asleep on the boat when all is wild at sea, He was at peace.

We carry His peace, it’s part of us, it’s a gift and a fruit of the Holy Spirit but we’re also told to pursue it, to look for it, to hunt it down!

I pray for peace everyday, I actively hunt it down in all that I’m doing, in my mothering, my work, my relationships, my priorities and my practices. I look for peace in the managing of my home; I want peace, not perfection!

So, let’s get practical – what are your peace pressure points? What is it in your home/life management that robs your sense of peace or puts blinkers on your eyes when you’re trying to hunt it down?

Mine? Laundry and dishes…but mostly laundry!!

It amazes me, my husband and my children that if I’m on top of the laundry I’m a different woman; if I’m not:

  • it’s on my to-do list every day but rarely gets ticked off as I do all the ‘other jobs’ first
  • I think about it all the time
  • I talk about doing it all the time
  • I try to plan it into my evenings (put a movie on, fold laundry) but I collapse under the exhaustion of thinking about laundry and fall asleep on the sofa!
  • It overtakes my ‘love nest’ of a room (no laundry room here folks)
  • we spend an hour each morning looking for socks
  • Getting everyone dressed ‘nice’ on a Sunday morning is a NIGHTMARE…smiles on, Praise Jesus!!
  • It stresses everyone out!

Phew…enough said, the overtaking of the laundry mountain monster steals my peace!

I can deal with dust, I can cope with cooking, I can pile and file (later) and stay happy around hand prints on my windows but I can NEVER laugh at laundry!

So what do I do?

  1. At one recent point of domestic devastation (could hardly get in my room and almost lost my husband due amount of piled high laundry baskets that were on my ‘to do’ list to fold and put away) I cried out to God for wisdom, pulled it together, rolled up my sleeves and refused to surface until it was ‘done’! I cancelled lessons for the day and worked none stop till every last sweater and sock were tucked away in drawers and wardrobes.
  2. I’ve made it part of my daily routine, I don’t delegate this chore, I just get on with it. Every day I wash, dry, fold and put away (older children put their own away) a load of laundry. Come rain or shine, day out or day in, this MUST be done.
  3. If we get behind due to illness, holidays etc. I take a day off and work at it until it is done.
  4. I wait till the weekend to do additional sheets, towels, cloth nappies (I do one extra nappy wash in the week…I have lots!) etc.

So what are your peace pressure points?  Have a think now, write it/them down and make a strategy to beat it, bring it under your control and find that peace in your home.

STOP ignoring it and crack on Mama! Don’t let anything steal your peace, not even a pair of old smelly socks!

If you missed part 1 you can read it here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Faith permalink
    February 28, 2012 3:00 pm

    This is amazing Leah! x

  2. March 3, 2012 6:53 pm

    Hey! I totally get the sock stress thing! I often joke (?) that if I became wealthy overnight I would buy a new set of socks, per person, per week!

    Do you have the same problem I do – if everything clean gets put away then there is no space in the drawers? I guess we have too many clothes (or too small drawers!) but one of the reasons I tend to let the putting away slide is that the drawers are already full (or at least disorganised enough to make putting more stuff in really hard).

    Then there is the problem of where to put clothes which have been worn, but which don’t need to be washed (I’m thinking the jumper thrown on for the hour long supermarket visit, or the skirt only worn for half a day).

    • leahboden permalink*
      March 6, 2012 7:33 am

      Hey Anna – if the clothes don’t fit in the drawers then there are too many clothes! We do a big sort out and give some away; and if it’s only been slightly worn then it still goes back in the drawer or wardrobe. I don’t like seeing clothes around the house anymore, I’ve become stricter on ‘if it’s dirty it goes in the basket, if it’s clean it shouldn’t be seen!’ It’s a daily habit training issue for ALL of us, but SO worth the peace it promotes! Happy laundry days x x

  3. July 25, 2013 2:48 am

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

