Skip to content

Ode to Micah (a 3 year old boy)

February 29, 2012

Small sweaty boy with your head on my pillow

you were shouting today, but now you’re so mellow

You’re growing so quickly from nursling to man

Let me capture this moment, slow down if you can

You bubble with joy and spill over with laughter

Your entertaining ways should win you a Bafta

Your countless drawings of large bellied stick men

are sometimes in crayon and sometimes in my (favourite) pen

You sing and you cuddle, you kiss and you linger

You hate having your nails cut and try to hide your finger

You want to do the same things as your big brother and sister

but the little girl chases you, afraid that you’ve missed her

Your prayers and so sweet and your jokes and quite funny

You’ve certainly caught the heart of this Mummy

My son this year you turn from 3 to 4

and they tell me I’ll ‘blink’ and you’ll walk out our door

Into your destiny

to the arms of another

but our prayers will go with you

like a hand crafted cover

but for now I’ll just stare into your gorgeous brown eyes

I’ll watch you and your brother have fun and play spy’s

we’ll love you and train you – you’ll never be shallow

but hush now little one asleep on my pillow

By Leah Boden

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 1:17 pm

    Tears in my eyes…gulp! What a wonderful ode to Micah, what a creative mummy! I’ve just been thinking this morning that in two months my 2yr old will become a 3yr old and will start pre-school in September. I am soaking up and soaking in the time we get to spend together each day while the other two are at school. How blessed are we?!

  2. Nancy K. permalink
    February 29, 2012 3:38 pm

    Love it! So true!

  3. February 29, 2012 3:46 pm

    Lovely.

  4. leahboden permalink*
    February 29, 2012 6:29 pm

    Ah thanks guys – 3 year old little boys are a treat!! L

Leave a Reply

