Skip to content

Sowing for our (their) future

March 3, 2012

It’s early morning and all is quiet in the house; I’m sat in our cabin looking crazy with a towel on my head hiding my Saturday morning frugal ‘roots’ job but still sporting splodges of dye on various parts of my upper body (it usually comes off in the shower!!)!

I have daffodils in jars dotted around my house; I’m celebrating March, I want to shout from the roof tops ‘IT’S SPRING’.  I occasionally ‘hear’ murmurs on Facebook of ‘snow is still to come to UK’ but I will NOT listen, it’s is March, therefore it is Spring!

I’m ready for space, for growth, for new shoots to appear and colour to invade. I’m ready for the little seeds and buds of promise to burst forth into life.  I want to fling open my doors and windows, invite the air and sunlight in and soak up this season of change.

Last night I planted an apple tree in my garden; I know it may take years (I will be planting two for cross pollination purposes; don’t worry green fingered mama’s, I’ve done my research!!) before we see fruit but I’m planting for future years of enjoyment, but maybe I will never see the apples on my tree if God moves us from this house, but I will still sow.

Sometimes is hard sowing into the unknown and unseen isn’t it?  A lot of our work as Mothers is for an eternal purpose, we’re sowing seeds into our children’s hearts, dealing with attitudes and character issues day after day that we may never see the full affect of or know why God wants us to really work on that area of their life, we have to trust their heavenly Father, He see’s the days ahead and knows that they are good.

So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up. Gal 6:9

I now find great joy talking to my children about the fact that what they learn within these four little walls and from this Yorkshire gal will have an impact on their marriages, their future parenting, their leading of others and their relationships with others for the rest of their life; so they need to listen up!

Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. Prov 1:8

Be encouraged mothers, we are sowing into our children’s future’s, we are sowing into our legacy, we are sowing into the future of the Church and the nations we live in (or those we don’t).  See BIG for your children and pray into it, sow into it, don’t belittle the everyday things you do in them and for them, find JOY in your work and watch what God unfolds…

For I am planting seeds of peace and prosperity among you. The grapevines will be heavy with fruit. The earth will produce its crops, and the heavens will release the dew. Once more I will cause the remnant in Judah and Israel to inherit these blessings. Zech 8:12

*Picture: Sienna and Micah looking at books together on World Book Day this week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 4:01 pm

    Lovely post & reminder! Thank you for sharing. PS: I’m a new reader, visiting from The Better Mom’s link up. 🙂

    • leahboden permalink*
      March 6, 2012 7:10 am

      Thanks for your comment and for stopping by Torrie!

Leave a Reply

