Skip to content

Mama for life!

March 14, 2012

I’m trying to type but your hands hit the keys

I chase you away and tickle your knees

You giggle and chuckle but come back for more

My book won’t get finished in this season for sure!

Another daughter God said, my heart couldn’t contain

the honour of raising two girls for His name

A sister to three, excitement all round

when they held you that day a new love they found

You were born last year in our living room,

you’re confident and strong like the others from my womb

Some say you look like Daddy; the ‘Boden’ look for sure

but your cheeks are getting rounder resembling Mama a little more

Your toothy grin lights up your face

my precious daughter you’re a gift of grace

You’ve found your feet; you wobble and fall

but given time you’ll scale a wall

We’re in love you and I, I can tell from your stare

when I gently nurse you and run my fingers through your hair

Your open-mouthed kisses leave us laughing with joy

you so willingly love us, you’re the real mccoy!

So small and cute with your hair all curled

but I know you’ll grow to bring hope to this world

There’s hope in your name and we’ll sow hope into your heart

and there’ll come a day when God will ask us to part

I’ll no longer nurse you or carry you in a sling

I won’t wipe your face or hear your baby efforts to sing

You’ll be ready to live and to be a great wife

but remember my girl I’ll be your Mama for life!

By Leah Boden

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 1:31 pm

    You’ve brought me to tears again Leah! Thanks for sharing this beautiful poetry x

  2. sarah permalink
    March 15, 2012 10:26 pm

    aww thats a fab poem and I’m sure she’ll cherish it when she’s older!

Leave a Reply

