Skip to content

‘Just’ a Mother?

April 5, 2012

Tonight I caught a bit of the programme ‘One born – what happened next’; I watched some of the first series, being a birth junkie and all that (!) but the tag line of this second series caught my attention:  ‘After the pushing comes the parenting’ – aint that the truth!

One of the families filmed featured an opera singing mother who ‘once a week is left alone with all 3 children’!! Just as I started to form a witty Facebook status in my head I heard this sweet mother of three continue to talk about the struggle with her identity, how she wasn’t just a mother but that’s all she felt.

The stories featured went on to tell of mothers feeling relieved to go back to work and desperate for time for themselves; I felt sadden but struck by this common feeling of lack of  identity that comes with motherhood in our seemingly selfish society

Isn’t it amazing how women long for a baby; they want the cooing, the cute clothes and the contentment that they see in the Pampers advert but reality bites with a strong contraction or the stitching of the perineum and the next thing they’re crying out for ‘me’ time and looking for the next ‘quiet 5 minutes’ through their sleep deprived eyes!

Motherhood is certainly not for wimps; Nancy Campbell taught me that motherhood is a noble calling and over the years as I’ve started to believe it freedom has come.

The most liberating tool for a mother is knowing her identity; not in her husband, not in her motherhood or former employment but in God; our Father and friend, the creator of the heavens and the earth, the one who knitted you together in your mother’s womb.

Ephesians 1:4 – For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.

Before I was a wife or a mother I was a child of God; chosen, loved, accepted and this love is the same yesterday, today and forever more, He is unchanging.

I root myself in God, I stand firm on His Word and dwell daily in His presence – everything I am flows from this.

My identity does not depend on how many children I have, how I educate my children, what I read or write (or how often *smile*), who my friends are or how ‘busy’ I am in the church; my identity depends on Christ alone; my all in all.

I love motherhood, I want to fully embrace this season when my children are wrapped around my ankles and asking a billion questions a day, but I also have many passions, plans and dreams untapped that I know God has formed in me beyond the laundry and lessons.

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns. Phil 1:6

God never stops faithfully working on our lives; let us be faithful to walk the path He has led us to; not striving for another woman’s path or season in life. Don’t begrudge rocking your baby to sleep in the early hours, cleaning up the emptied cereal box from the kitchen floor again; or never quite hearing a whole (or any) sermon on a Sunday morning as you’re generally pacing the church hall with your ‘desperately needing a nap’ baby; allow God to teach you, shape you and bring wisdom through every challenge and trial

So, the next time you’re wondering who you are and what others think about you go to God, the source of everything you are and just get a glimpse of how amazing you are precious mother!

Seasons change and each season in God has purpose for your life.

For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven. Ecc 3:1

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 11:17 pm

    Wonderful Leah! What truth…what a perspective to have and keep throughout all our daily goings on. Kathi Kelly: Child of God. Always! Thanks for sharing such a valuable message! X

  2. April 6, 2012 6:53 am

    Love it Leah!

  3. April 6, 2012 3:01 pm

    Leah, this is such a wonderful post! Every mother I know has struggled with this at some time or another. I love how to remind us that our identity is not to be wrapped in anything except who we are in Christ!! Amen!! When we keep our eyes on HIM, we are able to embrace the joy & trials that come with the different seasons of life.

  4. Lucy permalink
    April 9, 2012 5:31 pm

    One word – AMEN !

Leave a Reply

