Skip to content

Mothers young or new – this encouragement is for YOU!

April 19, 2012

Jet lagged hubby getting lots of snuggles on his return from Mexico

  I think they missed him!

So I’m finally coming to terms with the fact that I’m neither of these! When the beautiful young girls who were in your youth group or came to your youth camps are getting married and having babies you know you’re no longer in the ‘new mum’ category!

I’m watching precious women in my life; across the globe and dotted around Facebook having babies and glowing with motherhood; it’s so heart warming to see you embracing this amazing season of your life and despite its many (many many) challenges, you are enjoying your children, understanding that your children are a blessing and choosing to learn from what every day brings.

So, in the light of Titus 2: 3-5

Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children,to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.

I’m kicking off a series just for YOU! What would you like to ask?

I don’t know about you but I always had (and still do) tons of questions to ask about mothering my children. I often wished I had some Titus 2 guru at the bottom of the garden I could call on at any time; you can scan the web, read hoards of books but nothing beats sitting at the feet of a wise woman of God who’s a bit further on this journey than you are.

The plan is to collect as many questions from new or young mums as possible through commenting on this blog post, on our Facebook page or by tweeting me – I’m sure there are many questions buzzing through your mind, well now is the time to ask!

Do I have all the answers?  Ha ha, may it never be! Of course not; the plan for this series is to collaborate with my Mum/Mom pals and depending on your questions will depend on who I ask…so ‘older’ Mama’s I’m coming after you too!!

Starting point

Our starting point is always Jesus; He is our all in all, our beginning and end and He never changes. When we’re unsure, wobbling, stressed out or all three who you gonna call?! Jesus must be the centre of our family, our parenting, our motherhood – He is the rock on which we stand.

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. James 1:5

Bottle or breast, cloth or disposable, slingers or buggy pushers, outdoorsy or indoorsy, working or stay at home, public, private or home educators, tea drinkers or filtered water sippers we’re all mothers; women blessed with the gift of children and called to raise them for the glory of God. So be FREE, be yourself, don’t compare yourself to others and walk confidently as YOU, you’re amazing.

For we are God’s masterpiece. Eph 2:10

If you haven’t read last weeks post yet read this now! Find your identity in Jesus precious mother and find freedom…

Now come on Mama’s throw your questions at me as I gather some amazing mothers around me to help you and encourage you in this amazing journey…

Who’s going to be first?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 7:27 pm

    Love this idea Leah! I have loads of stuff I could ask but something we’ve been talking about a lot at the moment and would love advice on is – how do you teach your child to respect other people’s personal space whilst still encouraging them to ask questions and to let them know it’s ok to be inquisitive about our bodies? In particular, M is very interested in the differences in people’s bodies but it means she always wants to go to the toilet with pretty much everyone and she’s not fussy about who she accompanies! It can be really awkward for friends visiting or random people at church she attaches herself to because they see it as inappropriate (which we completely understand). The problem is that if we say no to her she gets upset because, in her mind, there’s nothing wrong with it. We’re unsure how to address the issue as we don’t want her to think that it’s wrong to ask questions or to be interested but we do want her to understand that not everyone needs to be accompanied when they are getting changed / going to the toilet etc. Hmmm I hope that makes sense and doesn’t make M seem like an odd-bod!

    • leahboden permalink*
      April 24, 2012 9:35 am

      Ahh, great question Jess…I have a penned an answer in my head, will be back after ‘school’ to share my thoughts! Leah x

Leave a Reply

