Skip to content

Mothers are builders

May 3, 2012

Unless the LORD builds a house, the work of the builders is wasted

Psalm 127:1

I’m a great starter but not an amazing finisher; my personality is ‘one of those’ that has a billion brilliant ideas, kick starts them amazingly but often fails to complete…sound familiar to anyone? Anything from a diet or fitness regime to a community project or a writing idea I often trip at the last hurdle, I don’t push through to completion and enjoy the satisfaction at the end!

I’m very aware of my failings and am learning to:

  • Set myself more manageable goals (i.e write a short inspirational e-book or booklet before I launch into my epic life transforming novel!!)
  • Set short-term dead lines
  • Celebrate minor and major victories
  • Build a team of people around me to walk out bigger projects; envision people to carry where I can’t and kick me up the behind when my mind wanders…

My marriage and family is not a ‘project’ per se but I am building everyday, and building with a long-term view. This I do get, and do want to finish well.

I don’t want to be like this man:

For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it? Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish’. Luke 14:28

I want to be like the wise woman:

A wise woman builds her home, but a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands. Proverbs 14:1

I have many bright ideas and inspiring mothering and homemaking strategies but unless the Lord is building my home and my life, my labour is in vain. Unless I’m wearing my (funky pink) hard hat of salvation; guarding my mind and guiding my soul I am nothing but another exhausted Mama trying to make it through with a glass of wine lingering at the end of the day.

I am placing bricks of love, joy, hope and peace into my home; into my marriage and children everyday.  I am building a masterpiece that will last for eternity.

I am a mother

I am a builder of hearts and lives

Building for His generous legacy

Building for His glory

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 11:55 pm

    A big “amen” to this post, Lsa! Wonderfull encouragement..thank you! 🙂

    • leahboden permalink*
      May 4, 2012 6:20 am

      Thank you Lisa – blessings to you and your family 🙂

  2. jen permalink
    May 4, 2012 10:04 am

    I like this!

Leave a Reply

