Skip to content

Books on my coffee table!

September 13, 2012

Image

I like to keep my favourite things in sight and at hand; maybe that’s why I stay at home with my children (smile)!

I have book shelves all over the house and cabin but I like to keep a few ‘flickable’, pick-up-when-up-like books/mags on my coffee table for that quiet moment when no one is asking for food or climbing all over you (and that’s just my husband)!

Sometimes this basket acts as my ‘soul time’; each morning it holds tools for my ‘quiet’ time and it always holds gems of inspiration for my homemaking and cooking.

So what is in there at the moment?

(Front to back of basket pictured above)

  • My Kindle; loaded with lots of delights – this week I’ve wading through ‘In defense of food’ by Michael Pollen
  • My prayer/Word journal that I write in every day
  • My new ESV bible with lovely green material on the front (did I tell you I loved green?!)
  • Spooning with Rosie – book #1, I LOVE her recipes and her style
  • Supper with Rosie – book #2 which Dave bought me recently, another gorgeous recipe book that I get tons of ideas and inspiration from
  • Kirstie’s Homemade Home – working my way through this one, lovely (some easy, some not) ideas for homemaking
  • The Thrifty Forager – absolutely LOVE this book; a great one for Autumn inspiration, walks and frugal/free cooking
  • The Beloved Burden – a perfect and beautiful gift from my friend; a book all about baby wearing around the world, amazing photo’s…a gradual read!
  • Country Living Magazine – this is a treat (mags not in our budget at the moment!) for me but a friend got me the recent copy for my birthday
  • Landlove Magazine – a treat from my precious daughter, also for my birthday!

    Another one that is usually on there is the ‘Charlotte Mason Companion’ by Karen Andreola, but that is by my desk at the moment as I use it lots!

    What books are on your coffee table?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 2:59 pm

    OOOoooo….can’t wait to check these out! Thanks! Bibliopihia’s of the world unite!!!! 😉

    • leahboden permalink*
      September 13, 2012 3:26 pm

      Yeaaah Amy Marie! I keep promising to post my 2012 reading list; it’s now September and I still haven’t got round to it (sorry folks!); maybe I’ll do a end of year reading review, LOVE my books!

  2. Lucy permalink
    September 13, 2012 3:27 pm

    Our side table currently entertains a shape sorter, a hair brush, a pair of socks (clean !) and an empty bowl !!! All books are currently in high places since Jemima has learnt to ‘read’ and pull out her favourite pages 🙂

    • leahboden permalink*
      September 13, 2012 4:19 pm

      Ha ha love it Lucy – ok, so what WOULD your coffee table books be if you could have them on there?? L

  3. September 13, 2012 5:04 pm

    I love the Rosie books, theyare 2 of my current favourite cook books. Infact was it you that originally got me hooked by posting the yogurt cake? If so then thank you!

    • leahboden permalink*
      September 13, 2012 9:52 pm

      YES – I still make the yogurt cake, it’s perfect! My husband keeps talking about taking me down to London to her deli…we’ll get there one day! L

  4. Lucy permalink
    September 13, 2012 5:24 pm

    Hmm well I have a lil basket by my bed currently has the following stashed inside;
    Kindle – currently reading ; 7 virtues if a godly wife and mother.
    NLT bible in a year bible
    Current Sonlight and veritas press curriculum catalogues 🙂
    The 3 R’s by Ruth Beechick
    Vaseline handcream
    Gaviscon !!

    • leahboden permalink*
      September 13, 2012 9:55 pm

      Ah yes the bedtime basket – that’s the place *I* can’t put much on due to little hands tearing out their ‘favourite page’ and I just can not read in bed for love nor money…one or two lines and I’m Zzzzzzzzzzz 🙂 But I’ll go with the handcream! L x

Leave a Reply

