Skip to content

The remnants of me

October 27, 2012

It’s in these moments at the break of dawn (well it feels like that!) when the baby is woken by the other little one  just as I was about to start to read my ‘devotional’ study for the day when I rub my tired eyes, lay down my plans and give them all I can give at that time of the day; my arms, my knee and my space.

My kids get the whole of me but they also get the remnants; and they take it all.

I’m poured out, weary, forgetful and bleary eyed but they take me as I am; they’re happy, they’re content, they’re safe, they’re home in my arms.

Even if I feel empty, they climb into the space on my lap and envelop the air and fill it with their beauty and innocence.

I’m reminded of God’s grace; His free and ready favour, ready to take me as I am; empty, lost, forgetful (of His gift, His gospel), weary and laid out and He accepts me; He envelops me in His love, He pursues every part of me and fills my emptiness with His strength, love, hope and joy.

He makes me whole, He defines me, He brings fullness and breathes life into my day, my marriage, my motherhood, my ministry and my calling in Him.

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.
The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and
gave himself for me. Gal 2:20

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

