Skip to content

Spilled out and broken

October 29, 2012

My four little ‘pumpkins’ on our recent visit to a pumpkin farm

I learnt very early on in my journey of motherhood that there really is no point ‘crying over spilt milk’; mainly because it happens a lot…and their are lots of other things you could be crying about (smile!).

Recently we’ve had a ‘season’ of breakages and spillages in our home; from their milk to my tea and everything in between. We’ve broken plates and bowls and glasses and…wait for it…my tea pot lid (sniff sniff) and the majority of which have just been ‘accidents’ (that probably could have been prevented by a very attentive mother!).

My response is usually “oh dear, don’t worry, it doesn’t matter, we’ll clear it up”; I remove said child to prevent them from further injury or ‘mess’ and I clean up the remaining shards of beloved tea-pot lid or juice…and we move on with the day.

I get to show grace over and over (and over) again to my children. Some of the ‘accidents’ test my grace boundaries or how high-pitched my ‘oh dear’ can get but I’ve decided and realised that my response is deemed higher in the realms of eternity and in my child’s heart than my ‘beloved’ coffee mug or cake plate.

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not
destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. Matt 6:20

Isn’t this how God is with us? He shows His grace; His free and ready favour again and again in our lives. He looks at us spilled out and broken and says “Oh dear, don’t worry, we’ll clear it up”, and with His loving arms He removes us from the place as to prevent further injury (even if we feel like we’re left in the depths of it He lifts our face to His eyes to shift our focus to Him and not on what we’re in the ‘middle’ of) and says “come on, let’s get back on track and run this race together

May god’s grace be eternally upon all who love our Lord Jesus Christ. Eph 6:24

As I picked up the broken pieces of my tea-pot lid and noticed that the ‘pot’ itself was undamaged my creativity was unleashed (I let it out occasionally!) and I lovingly placed a mint plant inside it and I decided to use this ‘broken’ situation for growth.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect
in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so
that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Cor 12:19

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2012 10:02 am

    Thank you for this post, I think we always need to remember Gods grace when we are parenting so thank you for the reminder.

    • leahboden permalink*
      October 30, 2012 4:57 pm

      Thank you Bernardeena! Bless you – Leah x

Leave a Reply

